I Don’t Believe In God


Tell me about the God you don’t believe in. What is he like?

Is he angry?

Mean?

Vengeful?

Is he capricious – constantly changing his mind and unreliable?

Does He watch you like a hawk, hoping to “catch” you doing something wrong so he can lower the boom?

A control freak who wants to ruin your fun and wreck your life?

An egotistical maniac?

Like your father?

Is this the god you don’t believe in?

I don’t blame you. I don’t believe in that god either.

Let me tell you about the God I do believe in.

He is:

Merciful

Gracious

Patient

Abounding in goodness

Abounding in truth

He keeps mercy for thousands

Forgiving of:

Iniquity

Transgression

Sin

His plans for you are for good

and not for evil

To give you a future

and hope

He is a father to the fatherless

“Rest” for the restless

He loves each person with an everlasting love

He draws you to Himself with lovingkindness

He will not force you to do anything against your will

but left you free

to hate Him

if

you

so choose

He wants to be the anchor for your soul

He wants to call you “friend.”

He’s designing a home especially for you that is fabulous beyond your wildest dreams

with Him where there will be

no sorrow

no pain

no guilt

no sickness

no evil

He longs for you to get to know Him

then you will no longer believe all the lies about Him

and see Him as He really is.

Ask – and keep asking

Seek – and keep seeking

Knock – and keep knocking

He is waiting to hear from you.

“You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart, declares the Lord.” Jeremiah 29:13

(Originally posted on Lessons by Heart – 5/10/13)

3 thoughts on “I Don’t Believe In God”

  1. It sounds like the God I believe in; however, my God is of himself. He is not a creation of man, with the frailties and iniquities that come with humanity.
    I believe the bible is a creation of man; it probably records a visitation of extra-terrestrials’. Beings of such extraordinary omnipotence they were taken by our ancient ancestors as Gods; I believe the bible an allegorical record of that visit and was used to control the masses.

    Life is eternal and we will live on as new beings, who have accrued wisdom over many incarnations, and will continue to so until we self actualize, i.e. we reach our full potential.
    Tonydw.

    1. Hi, Tony

      Thank you so much for taking the time to give a thoughtful comment. I appreciate that. 🙂

      If today’s society is evidence of the “accrued wisdom” of those who have lived over and over, and this will continue indefinitely, we are in big trouble.

      The change over just the last couple of decades has been dramatic. As a whole, people are:more selfish, more violent, rudeness and crudeness are at an all time high…and getting worse by the day.

      One thing I’ve come to understand about God is that my opinion of Him doesn’t alter Him in the least. He is Who He is, regardless of what I believe…and doesn’t try to fit into my mold of what I think He is like. He’s not a people-pleaser! And He does not change.

      What amazes me is that when I believed the worst about Him, He continued to pursue me, and to show me His true nature. He is love, it’s His nature, not just some warm feeling He has to work up for humanity. Love gives, therefore must have someone on which to lavish that love. Why He chose us, is beyond comprehension, for we’re a pretty sorry lot.

      We *were* visited by an extra-terrestrial. His name was Jesus. God wanted to show us what He was like, so He humbly came in the most nonthreatening way He could…as a baby.

      How I wish the Bible was able to “control the masses.” Those who live by its words (and I do NOT mean those who *claim* to be Christians, but disregard It’s words) are joyful, peaceful, loving, caring, giving, more self-less, and easier to get along with. I hope you get a chance to meet one of them, for they are few and far between these days.

      This life sucked for me – I’ve been on the receiving end of most of the horrible things one person can commit against another. I don’t want another go-round while I suffer at the hands of people who haven’t yet gotten their “self-actualized” selves together. The idea of doing so fills me with such a deep despair – I can’t even describe it.

      I’m thankful for the Bible, and for the God of the Bible. He alone offers the hope of a pain-free, guilt-free, evil-free forever.

      We ARE eternal beings – with a decision to make. We can seek Jesus who did everything necessary to ensure that we can have a wonderful eternity…
      …or we can dismiss Him as irrelevant, try to take care of our future on our own – work hard at gaining wisdom – and have an eternity that is nothing but one rerun after the other.

      Having tried hard and gotten nowhere fast, I’m choosing Jesus, who set me free from alcohol and drugs, healed my wounds from molest and abuses of every sort, and gave me a life that is worth living full of joy, peace, and contentment.

      With warmest regards,
      Tami
      \o/

Leave a Reply

