I DON’T DO MARATHONS!


When my husband was involved in a car accident almost 8 years ago, the Neurosurgeon came out to talk to me after the surgery to repair the damage done to his spine.  He nicely, calmly explained that they tried to fix everything but there were no promises on what the outcome would be.

He also explained that Larry (my husband) would now be a quadriplegic due to the accident, but his spinal cord was not severed.  The Dr went on to explain that there was compression to the spine and it would be a while for all the swelling to go down and determine how much return he would get.

We were told that the next 12-24 months would be the key.  The most recovery that he would see would happen in that time frame.  And that this was going to be a looonnnnngggggg slow process.  I immediately spoke up and told this Dr that he didn’t understand, you see, I DON’T do marathons, I only run sprints.  To which he looked me in the eye and repeated, it is going to be a llllonnnnnnggggggg slow process.

I kept thinking, doesn’t he “get” it???? I don’t do marathons!!!!!

So I immediately put a plan into place that this was NOT going to be marathon, it WAS going to be a sprint.  If he only had 12 months to get everything back that he had, we needed to get going.  Right now.  One day at a time, for 12 months. Period.

Okayyyyyyy…… that was November of 2005.  And now we are in August of 2013.  Hmmmmmm.  For some reason, my sprint has turned into a marathon.  Funny how that worked out.

You see, the key to the whole situation is this: I loved, trusted, obeyed and followed Jesus as long as I could do it as a sprint.  Boy, He knew I could sprint.  But what Jesus really wanted to show me, was that I could indeed do a marathon.  It was not of my own choosing, and it certainly was not easy, but now almost 8 years after the fact, I do marathons!

When we allow the LORD Jesus to work in our lives, the way He wants to, we are stretched to the max, but we also grow in faith, love and trust.  I could not imagine ever running a marathon, but the LORD showed me just how strong I was, and that yes, even me, could do a marathon!

Dear Loving LORD Jesus, thank you for allowing me the opportunity to grow in personal relationship with you.  You have taught me so much and I am so grateful that you have been with me every step of the way through this marathon.  I love you Jesus.

3 thoughts on “I DON’T DO MARATHONS!”

  1. Toni, Thank you for sharing your experience. I am finding that dealing with the grief of my nephew’s unexpected death has turned into a marathon as well. People who say God doesn’t give us more than we can handle don’t get it. God gives us just a little more than we can handle on our own, knowing He is able to pick up the slack. It’s on his shoulders I’m running this marathon and I know that’s where you and Larry are, too. Your testimony has spoken volumes to me and I thank God for you and your honesty. May you continue to find strength through the Lord to run this marathon you are on. Love you.

    1. Thank you! I would never have believed this journey would last so long! I will pray for you as you continue yours. Thankfully, we do have the LORD’s peace, presence and comfort on the way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

