Peace, Anyone?


Sometimes it is good to take a leisurely stroll through Psalm 23. Care to join me?

The Lord is my Shepherd

but I must choose to follow Him. Why would I make this choice? Because His plans for me are for good and not for evil, to bring me to a glorious end.

He makes me to lie down in green pastures.

Sometimes, if I keep myself too busy, this will be through trials or illness. He does not afflict me, but allows affliction. His purpose is to feed and nurture me; to bring healing and growth.

He leads me beside the still water.

This is a symbol of peace and tranquility. Jesus said, “My peace I leave with you, My peace I give unto you. Not as the world gives, give I unto you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”

I do well to remember that Heaven is my home; I am just a pilgrim passing through this earth. It is my training ground – boot camp, if you will. His plan is for me (and you) to rule and reign with Him during the millennium, and He does not want whiners or tyrants ruling, but humble servants like Himself.

He restores my soul.

When I wander from the flock, and return after a while, He restores me to fellowship. Part of the restoration involves my transformation by the renewing of my mind. As my thinking is corrected, I become conformed into the image of God’s Son, and less prone to wander.

He leads me in the paths of righteousness.

He is holy, and His desire is for me to be holy as well. He leads me in righteousness because it is in His nature to do so.

For His name’s sake

– not so I will make Him look good, but because He is faithful to complete the work He began in me. I am  His workmanship – His project; and He is at work molding me into His Son’s image.

Even thought I walk through the valley of the shadow of death

– note that it is the “shadow”…and not death itself. Jesus said that if I obey His commands, I will not see Death. Death seems to be an entity, and not a process, for the Bible states that Death and Hades will both be cast into the Lake of Fire. One day this mortality will be swallowed up by life. “Death, where is your sting, Grave, where is your victory?”

Death is nothing to fear: Absent from this body is to be present with the Lord.

His rod and staff comfort me.

The rod is used for protection, and sometimes for correction. Both are a comfort, for the Bible tells me that only illegitimate children go undisciplined…and who doesn’t want protection??

His staff is used to guide and also for deliverance as I am pulled out of snares when the enemy manages to entrap me.

He prepares a table before me in the presence of my enemies.

The Bible is full of everything I need for life and godliness. My enemies are forced to look on whenever I partake of its nourishment – either through reading the Word or by listening to others teach from its contents.

He anoints my head with oil

– and my enemies are forced to watch while I am equipped and given authority to defeat them. The word anoint also denotes being made fat…I must be in pretty good shape in the anointing department. 😉

My cup overflows

…If a waitress is carrying a tray of full glasses of orange juice and she is bumped, orange juice will slosh out of the glasses – not milk or tea. When I am “bumped” emotionally, what sloshes out of me? Is it love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness, and self-control – or bitterness, anger, or resentment? This is an excellent test of the condition of my heart, for out of the abundance of the heart, the mouth speaks.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me

– every good and perfect gift is from above, I have a Father who loves to spoil me – and can afford to. It is not always in material goods, but also in love, grace, mercy, peace, or a variety of other ways.

I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

This is my destiny. It must be my goal – something I long for. (What will we be doing a million years from today? We will certainly be doing something – and it would blow your mind if you knew what that would be!)

There is no such thing as being so heavenly minded that I’m no earthly good. The Bible exhorts me to set my mind on things above, not on earthly things. To try to keep an earthly mind is contrary to His Word. I will be of no earthly good until I am heavenly minded, for then I will have an entirely different set of values – a different mindset.

When I know God’s purpose is good, I can:

Trust in the Lord with all my heart – like a toddler: joyous and carefree.

Not lean on my own understanding. The Bible says that God chose the foolish things of the world to confound the wise…that would be me! My understanding does not amount to much, for His thoughts are higher than mine, and so are His ways.

In all my ways acknowledge Him: this pertains to more than just my plans. It includes my road, journey, direction, manners, habits, course of life, as well as my moral character. Because He is my good Shepherd, I can confidently seek His direction in everything.

He will make my paths straight – no dead ends, no drop-offs, no overgrown trails, but He will put me on the Highway to Heaven!

Scriptures used (although not in order – sorry :():

Psalm 23                       Jeremiah 29:11
John 14:27                  1 Peter 2:11
2 Timothy 2:12          Revelation 20:6
Romans 12:2              Romans 8:29
1 Peter 1:16                 Philippians 1:6
Ephesians 2:10          Isaiah 64:8
2 Corinthians 5:4     John 8:52
Revelation 20:15     1 Corinthians 15:55
2 Corinthians 5:8     2 Peter 1:3

Luke 6:45                    Galatians 5:22,23
James 1:17                 Colossians 3:2
Proverbs 3:5,6          Matthew 18:3
1 Corinthians 1:27   Isaiah 55:9
1 Thessalonians 5:17

Visit Lessons by Heart

14 thoughts on “Peace, Anyone?”

  1. What a blessing!!! Ps 23 is wonderful and the way you lay it out and bring it all together is simply wonderful!!! I must print it and insert into my bible for frequent meditation. I love it so very much!

  2. It looks here that two persons are mixed with each other: on one hand there is the Divine Creator, the Elohim Hashem Jehovah about whom David speaks. You could place this psalm also telling us a lot about the other shepherd Jesus, but we should always trust in God the Redeemer who made it possible to have His son here on earth and to accept his offering.

      1. God is from the beginning and is eternal, so also has no end and can not die. In John is spoken about the Word coming from god. That Word of God is the speaking of God; It is an audible action from God, which we today have in written form in the Bible or Holy Scriptures. From the beginning, in the garden of Eden God promised a solution for the first sin of the first humans. This solution was the Messiah, Jeshua or Jesus Christ. Jesus was placed in the womb of the virgin Mary (Miriam/Maria) and as such came onto earth. Being a man of flesh and blood, he could be seen by many was tempted many times, while God can not be tempted nor be seen by men or they would die. Jesus suffered for our sins and really died. (He did not fake a death of a god who cannot die).

        The Holy spirit is the Power of God, His Thinking, Speaking, Handling, but not a separate being in a triune godhead.

        God who does not tell lies said about the Nazarene Jew “This is my only begotten beloved son”.

      2. The Word as both action and matter is a part of God and therefore God uses a part of Himself to create!
        John 10:38 the Father is in me and I in Him; Jesus refers to the Holy Spirit as serarate: John 14:26
        But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.John 15:26
        But when the Comforter is come, whom I will send unto you from the Father, even the Spirit of truth, which proceedeth from the Father, he shall testify of me:

        You say that the Word of God is the speaking of God, simply an audible action from God, and yet the Bible tells us something different, it tells us that the Word was God, and that the Word was made flesh and lived among us as His only begotten Son!
        By your reasoning the Bible is wrong and lies to us. To accept your version is to discount the very word that has been given us in the form of the Bible. Personally, I would rather accept the word of the Bible than the word of someone who is in disagreement with it. You may choose to disagree and declare that it is impossible, but science has recently established that a word spoken does have the ability to change both DNA and the environment in which it exists. Since I have no claim to the intelligence or ability of the Creator, who am I to argue with His statements and they are the word from Him!
        John 1:1-18
        Authorized (King James) Version (AKJV)
        1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 The same was in the beginning with God. 3 All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made. 4 In him was life; and the life was the light of men. 5 And the light shineth in darkness; and the darkness comprehended it not.

        6 There was a man sent from God, whose name was John. 7 The same came for a witness, to bear witness of the Light, that all men through him might believe. 8 He was not that Light, but was sent to bear witness of that Light. 9 That was the true Light, which lighteth every man that cometh into the world. 10 He was in the world, and the world was made by him, and the world knew him not. 11 He came unto his own, and his own received him not. 12 But as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the sons of God, even to them that believe on his name: 13 which were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God. 14 And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.

        15 John bare witness of him, and cried, saying, This was he of whom I spake, He that cometh after me is preferred before me: for he was before me. 16 And of his fulness have all we received, and grace for grace. 17 For the law was given by Moses, but grace and truth came by Jesus Christ. 18 No man hath seen God at any time; the only begotten Son, which is in the bosom of the Father, he hath declared him.

        John 17:11
        Authorized (King James) Version (AKJV)
        11 And now I am no more in the world, but these are in the world, and I come to thee. Holy Father, keep through thine own name those whom thou hast given me, that they may be one, as we are.

        Read John 14 – 17

  3. The Word becoming flesh is the expression of God to Adam and Eve that there will come some one to bruise the heel. We just say this coming to life of the promise of God is just the son of God and not god the son, while you are saying it is god the son. (So this makes us not lying but more the other one who says Jesus is god the son, twisting the truth).

  4. Look also at “the Word was with God,” in case Jesus is also God he can not be “with” but he “is”.

    Christ was not literally the Word. He was the word “made flesh”. (John 1:14). The Greek word “logos” translated “Word” expresses the divine intention, mind, or purpose.1 Young defines “logos” as “a word, speech, matter, reason.”2 In the a.v. “logos” is translated by more than 20 different English words and is used for utterances of men (e.g., John 17:20) as well as those of God (John 5:38).
    Also do not forget that in Hebrew, Greek in the earlier times as well as in contemporary times, like in Dutch (one of the languages spoken in the country where we are writing from) and other languages personifications are often used.

    “logos” does not in itself denote personality. It is personified by the masculine gender in the a.v., The Diaglott avoids confusion by translating the pronouns in the neuter-“through it every thing was done.”4 An Old Testament parallel to the personification of logos is the personification of wisdom: “The LORD possessed me in the beginning of his way, before his works of old. I was set up from everlasting, from the beginning, or ever the earth was.” (Proverbs 8:22, 23). In this passage, wisdom is personified as a woman. (Proverbs 8:1, 2).

    When we say the sea is crying, she is not a woman who cries. Also when we say “he is his the company” or “his company and him are one”, we never are going to think that company is an other person and that they both are one person. We also expect to have a family in harmony and would then say “they are in union” or “they are one in thought” like Jesus was one in thought with his Father who is greater than Jesus. (John 14:28)

    It is also noteworthy that although the writer to the Hebrews speaks in exalted terms of Christ (e.g. “express image of his {God’s } person”-Hebrews 1:3), “logos” is used of God’s message, and not of Christ himself. See (Hebrews 2:2; 4:2,12; 7:28; 12:19) and (Hebrews 13:7, 22).

    1. He who has seen me has seen the Father. John 14:9 Did Jesus twist the truth or was He mistaken? I do not think that He was mistaken nor did He twist the truth. You again are taking a small portion of a complete answer and nitpicking in order to find something that you can base your belief upon. Irregardless, it does not make what you are putting forth to be the truth. A bridge between heaven and earth in the form of a physical representation of God, that is how John the Baptist introduced Jesus, while at the same time reminding those around him of prophecy.
      Man does not live by bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God. Matthew 4:4
      Jesus said “I am the bread of life. He who comes to me shall never hunger. John 6:35
      Acts 8:14
      When the apostles in Jerusalem heard that Samaria had accepted the word of God, they sent Peter and John to them.
      Psalms 105:19
      Until the time that his word came [true]; the word of the LORD tried [refined] him. Scripture cannot try a man.

      Psalms 107:20
      He sent his word, and healed them, and delivered them from their destructions. Scriptures don’t heal or deliver, but the Spirit of the Lord Jesus Christ, whose name is the Word of God, does heal and deliver
      1 Timothy 3:16
      Authorized (King James) Version (AKJV)
      16 And without controversy great is the mystery of godliness: God was manifest in the flesh, justified in the Spirit, seen of angels, preached unto the Gentiles, believed on in the world, received up into glory.

      1 John 1:1-2
      Authorized (King James) Version (AKJV)
      1 That which was from the beginning, which we have heard, which we have seen with our eyes, which we have looked upon, and our hands have handled, of the Word of life; 2 (for the life was manifested, and we have seen it, and bear witness, and shew unto you that eternal life, which was with the Father, and was manifested unto us;)

      Isaiah 48:16:

      “I have not spoken in secret from the beginning; From the time that it was, there am I; and now the Lord God, and his Spirit, hath sent me.”

      To believe that God has a single aspect and can not exist as a trinity is to deny the very word that He has given us. My soul can cry out and yet my voice not utter a word. You are limiting the limitless to standards that fit your desires. If you choose not to believe in the trinity in face of all the evidence that is presented in the Bible, that is your choice, but it is a choice! God bless you!

Leave a Reply

