Now That’ll Wreck Your Day


Driving home from Santa Rosa one night, my nerves were as tense as a drum head. It was about two in the morning, and the elk traveled that highway at night.

To hit an one of these majestic creatures while driving a compact car,

well, that’ll wreck your day for sure.

I was on high alert, my eyes peered into the darkness outside the headlight beams. I hoped to spot the large animals in time to avoid a collision.

Suddenly, in my mind, I “saw” my car hit one. My body was instantly upright, and I popped through the roof of my car like a piece of toast ejected from a toaster. Quick as a wink, I shot through space and was caught in Jesus’ arms. I’d have passed Him by if He hadn’t caught me. Jesus was chuckling at the surprised look on my face.

Just that fast, I was no longer afraid. Instead I began the “wheet, wheet” whistle of a person who called their dog. “Here, elk! Here, elk!” I called merrily.

When the Lord brings the light of truth to our darkest dread, fear flees!

A few weeks later I drove to the store. I saw a large black butterfly as it flitted around me – and then it swooped in front of me.

The instant I imagined it hit my grille, I “saw” it gently pushed through a gossamer-thin veil where it became the most beautiful iridescent blue I’d ever seen. The world around it was too stunning for words. “Pure color” is the only thing that comes remotely close. It was amazing.

In 1 Corinthians 2:9, 10 we read, “Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, nor have entered into the heart of man the things which God has prepared for those who love Him. But God has revealed them to us through His Spirit.”

Why He chose to give me these “visions,” I don’t know, but I can tell you this:

Death has lost it’s ability to wreck my day!

*****

{More on this topic in my next post. You can find it here “In Your Wildest Dreams.” Don’t miss it!}

Visit Lessons by Heart

One thought on “Now That’ll Wreck Your Day”

Leave a Reply

