I love the Lord, for He . . . (Psalm 116 – part 1)


Reblogged from SINGING IN BABYLON (Posted on August 16, 2012 by

wpid-treesun.jpgPsalm 116:1-4  (NIV)

“I love the LORD, for he heard my voice; he heard my cry for mercy.
Because he turned his ear to me, I will call on him as long as I live.
The cords of death entangled me, the anguish of the grave came upon me;
I was overcome by trouble and sorrow.
Then I called on the name of the LORD: “O LORD, save me!”

I feel closer to Jesus at some times than at others. I believe in Jesus more at some times than at others. It has most often been during celebrations of ‘Communion’ or ‘The Lord’s Supper’ that I feel and believe better, for some reason. Maybe it’s the element of community. Maybe it’s simply that I am watching for him more closely then.

Reading Psalm 116 (so many times in this last week) has been another experience of this closeness and I believe at last that I know why; I don’t recall ever being more aware of Jesus as man.

As one of the ‘Hallel’ Psalms, Jesus would have sung Psalm 116 with his disciples at his last Passover before walking with them to the garden of Gethsemane. There he would struggle with his Father in prayer, be betrayed and arrested and then led eventually to the cross.

It is this picture of Jesus, the man, the faithful son of David, sharing the Passover with his disciples as a man yet aware of and committed to the cross, that I find irresistible and almost overwhelming.

Just think of him singing these words, then walking to Gethsemane; praying there in such distress knowing what he would soon bear, not for any sin of his own but for ours.

It is his faithfulness as a man, dependent on his Father’s love and on the Spirit’s strengthening just to get through this one day of all days; it is the thought of him since childhood, every Passover time having sung these same words with his family, having read the scriptures and seen himself there (the Word of God to the Son of God; just incredible!); it is the thought of him going willingly through this heart-breaking struggle as a man without turning away that has been so moving.

I love the LORD, for he heard my voice; he heard my cry for mercy.

You may also enjoy:

Great are you, Lord                                                                                                                                                                                  The Bible’s Songbook
all sons and daughters
notes 7

One thought on “I love the Lord, for He . . . (Psalm 116 – part 1)”

Leave a Reply

